zosianicola's diary

zosianicola's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

5 weeks

Mydog is really smart. He is now heeling on a leash that I tie around my waist rather than hold. He walks for about 20 minutes right at my left side without any misbehavior before he just has to start fidgeting and checking the roadside garbage. We regularly see deer and schoolchildren and he is not distracted by either----unless I let him talk to the children, in which case he is sweet and lets them pet him, and doesn't jump on them. He sits on command and he lies down on command. He is getting pretty good at fetch but it's erratic. Three or four fetches and he starts to falter.

And he continues to be extremely handsome.

Hisdog is not quite as advanced as Mydog but he is friendlier and cuddlier, which goes a long way. i often think I like him better.

School is going better, things are calming down, but I still work long hours and feel baffled. This week I learned I must "advise" 50 undergrads. This means I have to sit down with them periodically and help them decide what classes to take and how to prepare for their eventual careers. Huge time drain. Other universities let their students register on-line. St Ecstatica's REQUIRES A FACULTY MEMBER TO FILL IN THE BLANKS ON THE REGISTRATION FORMS FOR ALL THEIR STUDENTS. Can you believe this? Stone age? Bronze age?

A terrible thing happened this week that I can't write about. It wasn't my fault but I was the perpetrator. It was a computer program's fault---i was the computer operator---there, that't all I can say. I felt mortified, angry, guilty, inept....

7:07 p.m. - 2006-09-23

---------------------------------------------------------


previous - next

a substitute activity - 2007-07-17
tired of this tedious waiting all the time - 2007-07-13
July 13 update - 2007-07-13
- - 2007-07-08
nooooooz - 2007-06-29

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: