zosianicola's diary

zosianicola's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

miracle or competence?

Wednesday was the lowest day of my new career---spent all day doing "priority registration", which means spending all day with students in 15 minute sessions apiece helping them register for classes electronically---trying to find open sections, making sure they are classes the kid is required to take----I usually use Wednesday to test the biology lab for Thursday so at 4:30 I still hadn't had a chance to think about the lab. I had undergrads grading the hour exam that I had given the freshmen biology students, so I hadn't even had a chance to see how that went. I was thinking about cancelling the lab! A professor cancelling class because s/he isn't prepared? Could I do that? NO!
Yesterday I gave the 3rd hour exam to the Bioch class so I had them take the test upstairs in the biology lab space so I could work on the lab at the same time. THat worked out OK. I had 2.5 dedicated undergrads helping out, and we got it all together in time, though we had delays when searching for the missing blender and centrifuge rotor for making a chloroplast prep. It all came together in the end, the lab was successful as any, and now I have to wonder if maybe there is a God who micromanages our daily lives. How could that have happened without something supernatural watching out for me?

P-dog would say how ridiculous. You are smarter and more competent than you give yourself credit. AND I have some fab undergrads helping out.

ANyway I had a gimlet when I got home and spent the evening reading Dogster e-mail (Mydog had the "diary of the day!" SO life is swell now

7:48 a.m. - 2006-11-10

---------------------------------------------------------

leisure activity
yesterday, walking Mydog, today, playing fetch on the tennis court

previous - next

a substitute activity - 2007-07-17
tired of this tedious waiting all the time - 2007-07-13
July 13 update - 2007-07-13
- - 2007-07-08
nooooooz - 2007-06-29

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: