zosianicola's diary

zosianicola's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yahoo

Today you are reading an entry posted by a person who has finally dumped the crappy internet and phone service provider Time Warner!!! It took some doing but now I have AT&T service, and I deeply hope that AT&T can keep my phone and internet access working 24 hours a day, not 19 ro 20 hours a day, taking lovely coffee breaks for 2-2.5 hours twice a day, around 9 am and 9 pm. EVERY DAY.

I've had the phone service for 2 weeks and it is as reliable as you would expect for a company that has been providing phone service for a century.

Because of having AT&T, Brinks was willing to set up fire protection for me (their policy is that they will not set up fire protection for people who have Time Warner because the fire marshall will not certify digital phones as reliable). So now I have smoke detectors too. Kind of wanted them.

Today I got the ATT Yahoo DSL modem working. Took a while because it was being flubbed by the AirPort, not something covered in the do-it-yourself manual, because the manual is written for poor suffering ignorant deprived PC users.

Drawbacks to ATT? Of course there would have to be some. they are a huge corporation. They sold my phone number to every telemarketer in the country (no, world) and now I get 5 solicitations/hour. Time Warner didn't do that to me.

10:06 a.m. - 2007-04-23

---------------------------------------------------------


previous - next

a substitute activity - 2007-07-17
tired of this tedious waiting all the time - 2007-07-13
July 13 update - 2007-07-13
- - 2007-07-08
nooooooz - 2007-06-29

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: