zosianicola's diary

zosianicola's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it's a no-cooking kitchen

the condo doesn't have a stovetop. The existing one was old and ugly and one burner only worked on high. So we bought a nice new one early in June, and it was delivered on June 26----had to fit that into our busy summer, all that travel we did. So, sears will sell them but not install them so it sat there until the end of July when I moved here and could be here to wait for electricians etc. One guy came and took the old one out, then tried to put in the new one, but it doesn't fit. it is just an ooch too small for the hole, so it would probably fall in. strike one. I asked a carpenter to come look about making the hole smaller but he said it wasn't possible. strike two. so I ordered a "filler kit" designed to make the stovetop bigger. it arrived Friday. it is for the back, not the sides. Strike three I'm out.

Actually this is a goodish thing because since I can't cook much or cook anything very good I haven't been eating a lot. i went to the doc on Friday to get a bone density scan, and had lost 6 pounds.

Of course I have a microwave, and I also have an electric skillet. Plus I also have a very large hole in my kitchen counter, with live wires hanging inside.

I guess we'll have the old one put back in until we can afford the time and energy and money to have new counters installed. These counters are yucky, but what I want will cost about $5-8K, like the counters in the house, that we had put in about 5 years ago.

9:51 p.m. - 2006-08-27

---------------------------------------------------------


previous - next

a substitute activity - 2007-07-17
tired of this tedious waiting all the time - 2007-07-13
July 13 update - 2007-07-13
- - 2007-07-08
nooooooz - 2007-06-29

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: