zosianicola's diary

zosianicola's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jack's birthday

We drove home to CS yesterday even though when we got in the car little freezing pellets of water were raining from the sky. i really wanted to come home to CS, and Mydog thought it was cool. The weather forecast had cited a 20% chance of precipitation so I hoped the sleet would be short-lived, and decided to go for it. We tried to get on 410 from Fredrxbg Rd but it was backed up, so we tried to get on 10 south from Callaghan Rd but 10 looked way backed up (everybody driving cautiously because of the sleet) so we took 10 north. That started to get slow so i was afraid it was going to take 2 hours to get out of town. No radio stations were saying anything about the weather, so I got P-dog on the phone, who looked up the weather on the internets, and found it was only freezing raining in a 15-mile radius around where I was, so I decided to keep going. No cars were sliding around. He said the temp was 42, so I hoped all the sleet would continue to promptly thaw upon hitting the cars and the road. And it worked! When I got out of town, 5 miles short of SM, all of a sudden, no clouds, no sleet, dry roads.

Mydog went to the vet here today. She thinks he has a torn muscle in his shoulder. That makes so much sense, because he limps but doesn't seem to protect his foot or his leg. His limp is really bad now because he's been playing wild with Hisdog for 24 hours. Anyway he's on an NSAID now for a week and if the limp doesn't lighten up he'll see the orthopedic vet next week.

I tried on a 4 mm wetsuit today---planning to do Town Pier in Bonaire this trip (January!) and that's a night dive. I shivered and shivered on our night dives in Bonaire last year. I didn't buy it because I'm also going to try a 3 mm vest to go under my 3 mm wetsuit----buying new neoprene is so exciting! They're cheap enough I might get both--the thicker wetsuit and the vest. But the really fun thing was trying on the wetsuit in the size that I really expected would be perfect and finding it WAY TOO BIG. Oh, clerk, please bring me this wetsuit in a size smaller, would you?

checked facebook for no apparent reason today, and it reminded me that it is favorite nephew's birthday. JEEZ, being sick and a new professor at the end of her first semester made me forget the boy's birthday. I was mortified, but thank Al Gore for the internets, I bought him an Amazon e-card and called him and hope I pulled it off.

10:16 p.m. - 2006-12-09

---------------------------------------------------------


previous - next

a substitute activity - 2007-07-17
tired of this tedious waiting all the time - 2007-07-13
July 13 update - 2007-07-13
- - 2007-07-08
nooooooz - 2007-06-29

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: