zosianicola's diary

zosianicola's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the worst lecture so far

I gave one crappy lecture today. Several bad happenings converged, several lucky things happened, but it still stank.

Krebs cycle. I mean, does anyone besides Hans Krebs (I mean when he was alive) know the Krebs cycle by heart? With all the metabolites and all the enzymes and all the cofactors and vitamins? Can anyone do all the electron-pushing without a lot of written notes?

SO I had a lovely Krebs cycle lecture written and in PowerPoint form. i had been reading my hubby's lecture notes in an effort to try to sound more conversational---to be able to lecture from a podium and not have to be looking at the screen all the time----so by that fateful happenstance i had some notes to fly with. i meant to turn away from the PowerPoint occasionally and write structures on the overhead projector, and at the last minute I remembered I was out of transparencies and ran out to the car to get some more. So there was another stroke of luck, that I had transparencies in the car.

I get to the lecture hall 10 minutes early to set up the computer projector and the overhead projector, and what DO YOU THINK? THE COMPUTER PROJECTOR BULB IS BURNT OUT. I thank the baby jesus that I had notes and I had overhead transparencies----but if I hadn't had them I would've just dismissed class and that might have been better. THAT MIGHT HAVE BEEN BETTER!!

No, I felt confident, so I passed out the written exercise I had prepared for them, the Krebs cycle with the carbons of pyruvate marked----bear with me, those who know no metabolism----and I jumped into the lecture with hubby's precious notes as my guide----it all would have been heaven if only i had been able to cleanly write the structures of acetate being added to oxaloacetate to give citrate----THREE TIMES I HAD TO START OVER, because the way P-dog writes them is not the way I write them----I have the carboxyl groups hang off to the right, and he puts all the carbons in one straight line-----

And then it was critical for me to show them the structure of aconitase, but you know it isn't a simple matter to draw a protein---


Oh I give up trying to describe how badly it went. Thank goodness for J and B who helped me along with lots of nodding.

here's what could have pissed me off if I weren't such a problem myself---I told the departmental person in charge of such things to take care of that computer projector bulb MONTHS ago and I also asked that person to get me more transparencies MONTHS ago.....I called physical plant myself and went to check the room several hours later, and they were working on the projector. Thanks fellas, cuz i really gotta have a projector on Thursday to try to reclaim the friggin Krebs cycle

7:38 p.m. - 2007-02-27

---------------------------------------------------------


previous - next

a substitute activity - 2007-07-17
tired of this tedious waiting all the time - 2007-07-13
July 13 update - 2007-07-13
- - 2007-07-08
nooooooz - 2007-06-29

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: